08.03.13 7.45pm, Sheffield Crucible Studio Theatre; £15, £12 Senior Citizens, Unemployed and Students, £3 Under 16s

Mark Lockheart’s Ellington in Anticipation

Mark Lockheart SAXOPHONES
Seb Rochford DRUMS
Liam Noble PIANO
Tom Herbert BASS
Emma Smith VIOLIN
James Allsop CLARINETS

This brand new project inspired by the music of Duke Ellington takes the great musician’s most revered compositions and deconstructs and arranges them into a fascinating set of new music. Rich in orchestration and concept and entirely respectful to the beauty of Ellington’s original creations, these pieces combine the old with the new. Ellington in Anticipation will be released on Subtone Records in February 2013.

This all-star seven-piece group features some of the most exciting and original musicians in the UK, including Parliamentary Jazz Musician of the Year 2010 Mark Lockheart, from groups Loose Tubes and Polar Bear.

A Sheffield Jazz concert.